4.8out of 3,000+ reviews
West Virginia drivers navigate forests, mountain roads, and visiting motorists on a daily basis. But despite those challenges, West Virginians also enjoy some comparatively low car insurance rates – the average is just $195 per month.
That’s well below the national average of $233 per month, making West Virginia the 19th-cheapest state for car insurance. If you want to save even more, you should compare quotes online. This is the best way to see all available providers and lock in the cheapest car insurance.
The average cost of car insurance in West Virginia is $195/mo.
State Farm is the cheapest provider in West Virginia, with average rates of $65/mo.
The easiest way to cut car insurance costs is to compare quotes online.
Table of contents
- Best cheap car insurance in West Virginia: State Farm
- Minimum car insurance requirements in West Virginia
- Tips for getting cheap car insurance in West Virginia
- Liability-only vs. full-coverage insurance in West Virginia
- How your driving history affects West Virginia car insurance rates
- How credit scores affect West Virginia car insurance quotes
- How your city affects West Virginia insurance quotes
- How your age affects your West Virginia car insurance rates
- West Virginia car insurance FAQs
- Insurify Insights
Best cheap car insurance in West Virginia: State Farm
Best Cheap Car Insurance in West Virginia
State Farm offers the cheapest auto insurance in West Virginia, with average monthly quotes of $65. But on average, drivers spend $195 per month for car insurance in West Virginia. Other top companies that offer below-average rates include GEICO and Nationwide.
|Car Insurance Company||Insurify Composite ScoreThe Insurify Composite Score is a proprietary rating calculated by a team of data scientists at Insurify, weighing multiple factors that reflect the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company. Inputs to the score include financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch; J.D. Power ratings; Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys and customer complaints; mobile app reviews; and user-generated company reviews.||Average Monthly Quote|
|Midvale Home & Auto||N/A||$195|
Learn More: Best Car Insurance Companies
Insurify Composite Score (ICS)
To calculate the Insurify Composite Score, a proprietary rating, Insurify data scientists weigh multiple factors that reflect the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company.
Inputs to the score include J.D. Power ratings, Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys and customer complaints, mobile app reviews, user-generated company reviews, and financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch.
Minimum car insurance requirements in West Virginia
All motor vehicles operated or parked on West Virginia roadways are required to be insured. Without proof of insurance, it’s illegal to hit the open road. That proof of an adequate insurance policy must be carried in your car at all times and must be available when:
Requested by law enforcement
Renewing vehicle registration
The vehicle is involved in a car accident
The minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in West Virginia are:
$25,000 per person for bodily injury/$50,000 per accident for bodily injury: As a major part of your liability insurance, bodily injury coverage covers medical bills for people other than the policyholder who are injured during an accident. West Virginia is an at-fault state, meaning the driver who is responsible for the collision is also responsible for paying for any resulting expenses, either through their car insurance provider or out of pocket.
$25,000 per accident for property damage: If it’s determined that an insured driver is at fault for an accident, this coverage pays for repairs to the property of the other involved parties. Additionally, property damage coverage can cover legal costs if the insured driver is involved in a lawsuit following the accident.
$25,000 per person for uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury/$50,000 per accident for uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury/$25,000 per accident for uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage: Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage pays for costs caused by a driver with little or no insurance after a car accident. In West Virginia, motorists are required to purchase the same level of insurance for this coverage as liability coverage.
West Virginia DMV information
The West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles handles many important tasks related to driving, such as issuing and renewing driver’s licenses, ID cards, license plates, and car registrations.
In addition to staffed DMV offices, the West Virginia DMV offers kiosk locations for 24/7 service. You can use the kiosk to renew your vehicle’s registration, renew your driver’s license, look up your driver’s license record, or print duplicate registration cards.
Public transportation in West Virginia
Within the West Virginia Department of Transportation, the Division of Public Transit is responsible for coordinating public transit. There’s no statewide public transportation, according to the West Virginia Public Transit Association.
Instead, 18 public transit agencies serve 32 counties by providing transportation services. Some serve individual cities, like how the Weirton Transit Corporation serves Weirton. Others are regional and serve several counties.
Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly
Tips for getting cheap car insurance in West Virginia
The best thing you can do to find cheap car insurance is to compare quotes from different insurance companies. As you shop, you can look for the right combination of low rates, good service, and more. An online comparison tool can pull different rates together from top insurers, allowing you to see who offers the best coverage and prices.
Liability-only vs. full-coverage insurance in West Virginia
If you live in West Virginia, you can opt to carry liability-only auto insurance, which pays for expenses related to injuries and damage to the other party’s car if you cause an accident. Each state sets its own minimums for how much liability insurance it requires drivers to carry. Liability-only insurance can make sense if:
You have a low-value vehicle.
You can afford to repair or replace your car out of your own pocket.
Getting the cheapest insurance possible is your top priority.
For a higher level of protection, you can choose full-coverage insurance, which includes basic liability plus collision and comprehensive coverage. Collision coverage pays for damages to your car, even if you’re at fault for an accident. Comprehensive coverage pays for damages caused by events out of your control, like vandalism, weather, and animals. Auto lenders and leasing companies typically require drivers to carry full coverage on a car they’ve financed.
You may also opt for full coverage if:
You have a high-value vehicle.
You wouldn’t be able to afford to repair or replace your car out of pocket.
Your car’s actual cash value (the payout you’d likely get if your car is totaled) exceeds your annual premium to carry full coverage.
Here’s a look at the average monthly quotes for the cheapest auto insurance in West Virginia by policy type.
|Car Insurance Company||Liability Only||Full Coverage|
|Midvale Home & Auto||$128||$195|
How your driving history affects West Virginia car insurance rates
Your driving history is the factor that most influences your car insurance costs. Good drivers — whose records are free of serious traffic violations like speeding tickets or reckless driving — tend to get the best car insurance rates in West Virginia. But infractions like driving under the influence or at-fault accidents can significantly increase insurance costs.
Here’s a look at average monthly quotes for the cheapest car insurance in West Virginia based on driving and accident history.
See More: High-Risk Car Insurance West Virginia
|Car Insurance Company||Clean Record||At-Fault Accident||With a DUI||Speeding Ticket|
|Midvale Home & Auto||$170||$303||$340||$266|
See More: SR-22 Car Insurance West Virginia
SR-22 insurance in West Virginia
SR-22 forms are for drivers who have committed serious driving offenses, like DUIs. They prove that you’re carrying the state minimum requirements for insurance. Although most states require them, West Virginia drivers won’t need to get an SR-22 to get back on the road.
Instead, drivers with a DUI in West Virginia will have to participate in specialized education and treatment before their license can be reinstated.
How credit scores affect West Virginia car insurance quotes
As car insurance companies determine your rates, they often take your credit history into account. Although some states prohibit the practice, West Virginia permits it. Generally, people with excellent or good credit scores can qualify for lower car insurance premiums than people with average or poor credit scores.
The table below provides some insight into how credit scores can affect car insurance rates for West Virginia drivers.
|Credit Tier||Average Monthly Quote|
See More: Bad Credit Car Insurance West Virginia
How your city affects West Virginia insurance quotes
Car insurance costs in West Virginia can vary significantly by city. That’s because your ZIP code matters to insurance companies. Drivers living in densely populated cities often find higher rates than those in suburban and rural areas. Insurify analyzed the average monthly car insurance costs for the following West Virginia cities.
Find the average rate for your city in the chart below.
|City||Average Monthly Quote|
How your age affects your West Virginia car insurance rates
Because insurers generally equate age with experience level, your age will significantly affect how much you pay for car insurance. New drivers, who tend to be teens or people in their early 20s, typically pay more for insurance than drivers 25 and older.
The following table gives a high-level view of how age can affect insurance rates.
Quotes for younger drivers
Although car insurance rates overall in West Virginia are lower than in many other states, younger drivers are still likely to pay more. Insurance companies take into account the relative inexperience of drivers younger than 25, and their likelihood of filing a claim, when deciding car insurance rates. Drivers with infractions on their record will pay even more.
The table below provides some insight into how certain traffic violations can affect car insurance rates for young drivers in West Virginia.
|Car Insurance Company||Liability Only||Full Coverage||With Accident||With DUI|
|Midvale Home & Auto||$175||$258||$332||$436|
Quotes for middle-aged drivers
The majority of West Virginia residents are middle-aged, according to Census Bureau data. Middle-aged drivers typically pay less for car insurance than their younger peers. However, accidents and DUIs can push rates higher. Here’s a look at monthly average car insurance rates for middle-aged West Virginia drivers with a DUI conviction on their records.
|Car Insurance Company||Liability Only||Full Coverage||With DUI|
|Midvale Home & Auto||$102||$167||$322|
Quotes for senior drivers
Although senior drivers typically pay the lowest car insurance rates of any age group, a conviction for driving while under the influence can significantly affect their car insurance rates. The table below illustrates the impact of a DUI on average monthly rates for senior drivers in West Virginia.
|Car Insurance Company||Liability Only||Full Coverage||With DUI|
|Midvale Home & Auto||$103||$132||$245|
West Virginia car insurance FAQs
State Farm offers the cheapest car insurance for West Virginia drivers, at $65 per month. USAA and American Family also offer affordable rates, at $78 and $124 per month, respectively. Drivers opting for minimum liability coverage can find even better average rates, including $43 per month with State Farm and $52 with USAA.
The best way to lock in the cheapest car insurance for your unique situation is to compare quotes across multiple insurance companies. Each insurer will weigh your driving details differently, so it pays to compare.
West Virginia is the fifth most-dangerous place to drive in the country, Insurify data shows. More than 20% of drivers have an incident of some kind on their driving record, which makes it comparable to states like Nebraska and Virginia. Drivers with speeding tickets, DUIs, or at-fault accidents on their records face higher insurance premiums.
Other factors that affect insurance rates include age and credit history. For those with good credit, affordable car insurance premiums are easier to find. Additionally, young drivers often pay more for car insurance than drivers with decades of experience under their belt.
On average, drivers in West Virginia pay $195 per month for car insurance. But the amount drivers pay varies widely based on their unique situation. We found average monthly rates as low as $42 and $52 from some top companies.
Compared to the rest of the country, the average for West Virginia drivers is less than the national average of $233 per month. In relation to neighboring states, West Virginians pay lower rates than drivers in Kentucky and Virginia but more than drivers in Ohio.
West Virginia drivers have plenty of high-quality insurance companies to choose from while shopping for affordable rates. The three best providers are State Farm, USAA, and American Family, with affordable rates and Insurify Composite Score (ICS) rankings of 88, 96, and 89, respectively.
With an average monthly rate of $65, State Farm earned an A++ rating from A.M. Best and an AA from Standard & Poor’s. USAA offers an average monthly rate of $78 and earned an A++ rating from A.M Best and an AA+ from Standard & Poor’s. American Family earned an A from both A.M. Best and Standard & Poor’s but offers a higher average monthly rate of $124.
No, drivers in West Virginia don’t need PIP. That’s because West Virginia is an at-fault state. If you’re in an accident, the driver who caused the crash is responsible for the bodily injury and property damage of everyone else hurt in the crash.
In a no-fault state, PIP coverage is required because it covers your personal medical payments after an accident. In some cases, PIP coverage will even pay for non-medical benefits, including lost wages, household expenses, and funeral costs.
Yes, West Virginia requires car insurance. When driving in the state, you must keep proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times. The minimum liability insurance for vehicles on West Virginia roads includes the following:
$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
$25,000 per accident for property damage
$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury
$25,000 per accident for uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage
It’s illegal to drive in the state without this minimum amount of coverage. If you cause an accident, bodily injury liability insurance will cover the cost of people impacted by the accident, while property damage liability covers some of the costs to repair or replace the other driver’s property.
When you obtain a car insurance policy for your West Virginia vehicle, the policy tends to follow the vehicle and not the driver. If someone gets in an accident while borrowing your car, your auto insurance policy will likely pay for covered damages. After your policy limit is reached, the driver’s insurance policy might kick in.
However, it’s usually not a good idea to allow an uninsured driver to borrow your vehicle. If an uninsured driver is operating your vehicle, they could face financial and legal penalties. Plus, their actions could impact your financial situation.
A full-coverage auto insurance policy offers more protection than minimum liability coverage. In addition to liability insurance, a full-coverage policy includes comprehensive and collision insurance.
Comprehensive coverage helps pay for damage to your vehicle from natural disasters, theft, vandalism, and more. Collision coverage helps pay for the costs of repairing or replacing your vehicle after an accident.
How West Virginia Drivers Measure Up
While most drivers know that car insurance quotes are determined in part by your personal driving history, many may be unaware that rates are also impacted by the average risk of the drivers around you as well. Check out Insurify's latest analysis of driving records in West Virginia below:
Drawing from an internal database of over 4 million car insurance applications, the research team at Insurify analyzes patterns in car ownership and driver behavior - including how West Virginia drivers measure up to their fellow motorists across the United States in areas including speeding, DUIs, and more.
Insurify Insights publishes data-driven articles, trend analyses, and national rankings each week on all factors related to cars and those who drive them.
Ford F-Series Pickup
Most Popular Car in West Virginia
State with the Most Speeding Tickets Rank
State with the Moving Violations Rank
State with the Most DUIs Rank
State with the most Suspended Licenses
While car accidents are a sadly unavoidable feature of time spent on the road, rates of accidents do vary from city to city and from state to state. West Virginia is the #40 state in the country for drivers with an at-fault accident on their driving record.
- Rank among states: #40
- Percent of drivers in West Virginia with an accident: 7.3%
While driving while intoxicated is never acceptable, it’s a more common offense than many assume. West Virginia is the #27 state in the country for drivers with a prior drunk driving conviction.
- Rank among states: #27
- Percent of drivers in West Virginia with a DUI: 1.4%
Reckless driving refers to a specific traffic violation: when drivers willfully act dangerously in spite of the risks they’re imposing on both themselves and others. West Virginia is the #41 state in the country for drivers with a reckless driving offense on record.
- Rank among states: #41
- Percent of drivers in West Virginia with a reckless driving offense: 1%
The Insurify team classifies rude drivers as those who commit one or more of the following driving offenses: failure to yield or failure to stop, improper backing, passing where prohibited, tailgating, street racing, or hit-and-run. West Virginia is the #42 state in the country for drivers with a rude driving violation on record.
- Rank among states: #42
- Percent of drivers in West Virginia with a rude driving violation: 1%
Exceeding the speed limit can endanger others and have a serious impact on your insurance costs. West Virginia is the #38 state in the country for drivers with a speeding ticket on record.
- Rank among states: #38
- Percent of drivers in West Virginia with a speeding ticket: 7%
Failing to yield the right of way isn’t just frustrating for other drivers; it’s dangerous, too. West Virginia is the #19 state in the country for drivers with a failure to yield violation on record.
- Rank among states: #19
- Percent of drivers in West Virginia with a failure to yield violation: 0.1%
Insurify's team of data scientists and content specialists presents Insurify Insights, a series of automotive, home, and health studies focusing on the topics that impact us all. through expert analysis of over 4 million car insurance applications and an array of top data sources, the Insurify Insights team produces new data-driven articles, trend analyses, regional superlatives, and national rankings every week. See Insurify Insights as featured in Forbes, Fox News, USA Today, NPR, and more.
Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly
Data scientists at Insurify analyzed more than 40 million real-time auto insurance rates from our partner providers across the United States to compile the car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations displayed on this page. The car insurance data includes coverage analysis and details on drivers' vehicles, driving records, and demographic information. Quotes for Allstate, Farmers, GEICO, State Farm, and USAA are estimates based on Quadrant Information Service's database of auto insurance rates. With these insights, Insurify is able to offer drivers insight into how companies price their car insurance premiums.
- West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner. "Automobile Mandatory Limits." Accessed December 6, 2022
- West Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. "West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles." Accessed December 6, 2022
- West Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. "WV DMV Now." Accessed December 6, 2022
- West Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. "Division of Public Transit." Accessed December 6, 2022
- West Virginia Public Transit Association. "WV Transit." Accessed December 6, 2022
- West Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. "West Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles Safety & Treatment Program." Accessed December 6, 2022
- National Conference of State Legislatures. "States Consider Limits on Insurers’ Use of Consumer Credit Info." Accessed December 6, 2022
- United States Census Bureau. "U.S. Census Bureau QuickFacts: West Virginia." Accessed December 6, 2022
- West Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles. "Consumer Insurance Information." Accessed October 5, 2022